Topographic classification of spinal arteriovenous lesions

  1. AVM

    1. Intramedullary (also known as type II or glomus-type AVM)

    2. Pial

    3. Epidural

    4. Intra- and extramedullary (also known as type III, intradural-extradural, juvenile AVM, or metameric AVM)

  2. AVF

    1. Pial AVF (also known as type IV, spinal cord AVF, ventral intradural AVF, or perimedullary AVF)

      1. Small

      2. Large

      3. Giant

    2. Dural AVF (also known as type I or dorsal intradural AVF)

    3. Epidural AVF (also known as extradural AVF)